What the World Doesn’t Need

Do you remember the lyrics to that old song, “What the world needs now is love, sweet love.”  I remember reading an article some time ago about an 85 year old gentleman in the Atlanta area that just received his masters degree from Kennesaw State University.  I was so inspired by this gentleman and his love for his wife.  His degree was in English and it all seemed to begin from love letters he was writing for his wife.  But then I started reading some of the responses people wrote and one of them was a gentleman that asked why was he getting praised for something he should have done 50 years ago.  Eh – some people are just like that – they would rather tear down than build up.  As I was thinking about this I started laughing and thought to myself, “The world went to pot when people started asking why the Howell’s took all those clothes and money and why Ginger had all those clothes for just a 3 hour tour.  We never thought those things when we were kids.  It also never seemed necessary for us to question why The Brady’s lived in a house with no toilet and cut a lawn of astroturf.  It just was.

     Then came a generation of people that wanted to ask why.  Don’t get me wrong, some why’s are important – like why do people of color have to drink from separate water fountains and sit on other parts of the bus?  Why can’t women vote?  But some why’s are just mean.  I don’t know – maybe we had a generation that wasn’t taught, “if you can’t say something nice don’t say anything at all.”

     I hope you have a great Christmas season.  I don’t know why people get so upset by the phrase Merry Xmas when the X symbol dates back to early biblical times when X was a symbol for Christ.  I don’t know why people care that there is a nativity scene on the courthouse lawn or a Menorah on the counter at a local community center.  I don’t know why it bothers people so much to have to look at those things.

     Here’s a suggestion – lets save the why’s for important stuff like the lack of toilets in the Brady household.  You might find yourselves much happier if you worry less about the opinons of others and more on how you can reach out and love.

     What the world doesn’t need is more people who ask why only to show their own superiority.

     So, “Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus.  He exists as certainly as love and generosity and devotion exist, and you know that they abound and give to your life its highest beauty and joy.”

About rodneydporter

I am a United Methodist Pastor. I used to say what I did defined me - but nowadays I prefer to be defined as a husband, dad and Christian.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What the World Doesn’t Need

  1. Karen Cutchens says:

    great article

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

